iInfographic

Project: Create an infographic to highlight statistical, timeline, process, or geographical-based information.

Goal: To show your audience “what they should look for among the clutter of detail” (Root-Bernstein, 1999, p. 89)

This was by far my favorite project! Below you will see my workflow and thought process on how I narrowed down my audience and abstracted the information into one concise piece of art.

  1. Started out with a lot of thoughts for an infographic, I initially wanted my audience to be special education teachers.
    • Tech in SPED-using tech to track data of IEP goals
    • How to write a robust goal (SMART Goals)
    • IEP Process- IEP timeline
    • IEP data tracking & goal tracking
    • How to add tech to content
    • Classroom Management
    • Social Skills (for students)
    • Visual Schedules
  2. After crossing a few off on my own I took four ideas to my professor and she asked that I write out what I would place on each of them. The How? The Why? The What? of each one. I did this for IEP process, data tracking, measurable goals, visual schedule & IEP process.
  3. This morphed into a 5th one, The Transition plan.
  4. In class we were able to do some peer mentoring,by the end of which I had narrowed my idea down to one: the IEP process.
  5. My audience had also changed from special education teachers to general ed teacher and parents.
  6. It was now time to gather information. What was the process in California? I also decided that I really wanted to include the time that each section had to be completed and the people involved in each step. 20160719_213428
  7. Now came time for sketching. What did I want my infographic to look like? I watched several videos in a Couresa class about infographic design, went to Pinterest and looked up some designs and took several designs that I liked and mashed them together to create 4 drastically different designs.
  8. After taking the designs to another professor I had, ideating about each design and taking a look at my skills in Adobe Illustrator, of which I had none at the time, I decided to go with one that I knew I would be successful at completing and not get too frustrated. 

YouTube was my best friend in working with Illustrator and the amount of time that I put in learning and ‘storyboarding’ or planning my infographic really showed. I wanted a clean look with gender neutral colors that complemented each other. I believe that my infographic turned out exactly how I envisioned. It took a lot of revisions and struggling through the process of learning how to create a good infographic AND how to use Adobe Illustrator. Sansing_infographic

IEP Process Sansing-01.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

